What are the China Social Impact Awards?

In 2017 the British Chamber established the China CSR Awards to recognise and celebrate the achievements of companies to further social good, environmental sustainability, inclusion and diversity. The Awards proved to be a great success with over 80 companies entering the contest, and over 200 people attending the awards ceremony.

With this in mind, and on the back of the hugely successful 2018 British Business Awards, the British Chamber of Commerce in China is proud to launch the 2019 China Social Impact Awards.

The 2019 China Social Impact Awards will expand the scope and encourage more companies to take part. Influenced by the UNDP’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals, companies will compete for 7 different awards. Each award will be available to companies in two categories, Corporate and SME. The winners will be selected by an independent judicial panel.  While over 250 guests sit and enjoy a gala dinner, the winner of each award will be announced and invited onstage to receive true recognition for the incredible work they have done making this world a better place.

What are the Award Categories?

There are seven different award categories:

  1.  Environmental Impact Award
  2.  Empowerment of Women Award
  3.  Poverty Alleviation Award
  4.  Equality in Education Award
  5.  Employee Engagement Award
  6.  Community & Culture Award
  7.  Universal Healthcare Award

Who can enter?

The awards are open to all companies that run social or sustainable programs impacting China, no matter the nationality of the company.

Organisations will have to enter as one of two classifications:

  1. Multi-National Company – To include companies with global revenue over $8 million USD.
  2. SME – Includes companies with a global revenue of less than $8 million USD.

Each award will have one MNC winner and one SME winner.

What programme, campaigns and projects are eligible?

All programme that impact China are eligible for entry to the awards. The programme should be clearly related to the award categories entered. See the award category pages  to see judging criteria and for more details.

Companies that run global CSR campaigns will be solely judged on the parts of the campaign that impact the social and environmental landscape in China.

How can I enter the Awards?

The China Social Impact Awards will accept online entries only. You may apply online as soon as entries open on Wednesday 21st August.

Once applications are open, click on the Enter the Awards button on our website, select the categories you wish to enter and complete the online application form.

The closing date for submissions is Wednesday 25th September.

Can I enter more than one award with the same programme?

Yes. If the CSR programme is clearly related to more than one award category, it may be entered in those awards. As the judging criteria are different for each award, separate applications are required to be made.

Can I enter more than one award category?

Yes. If a company runs more than one CSR programme that relate to different awards, that company may apply to all relevant award categories.

Can I enter more than one project, campaign or initiative for a single award?

Yes. If all programmes are related to the award, they may be entered as ONE application. Multiple entries to one award are not allowed. In the case that multiple entries are made, one will be selected at random. Companies applying should consider that judges will be looking for cohesive narratives.

Our organisation entered the previous CSR Awards, can we enter this year?

Yes. There is no limitation on the number of years in which an individual or organisation is entered for an award.

What is the selection process?

The judging process is divided into two parts; firstly the panel judges will individually shortlist and rank the applications, the scores of which are tallied and a final three announced.

The same judges will then come together as a group and discuss the merits of each of the finalists, coming to a clear decision on the winner and runners up. In the case of a split decision, finalists will be asked to interview in front of the panel.

The winners will be announced at the Gala Awards Dinner on Thursday 7th November.

How many judges are there?

For each award category there is a panel of five judges. The five judges will judge on both MNC and SME entries. In total, there are 42 judges throughout the whole of the CSIAs.

Who are the judges?

The judges for the CSIA’s were handpicked because in the opinion of the Award sponsor and the British Chamber of Commerce in China, they are respected and prominent individuals in the CSR field.

How will I know if my entry was submitted successfully?

You will receive an automated note generated by our online system.

How will I know if I have been chosen as a finalist?

Finalists for each award category will be contacted individually and announced on the China Social Impact Awards website.

The organisers will only inform those organisations and individuals that have been selected to progress to the second judging stage. The entrant’s designated contact will be formally notified by email after the announcement.

When will the winners be announced?

The winners will be announced at the gala dinner awards ceremony, which will take place on Thursday 7th November 2019.

To ensure the integrity of the Awards, no details of any winners will be available to the public, including the media, before the gala dinner.

* The details in this document are correct at the time of going to press and subject to change.
* The judges’ decisions are final.
* The China Social Impact Awards Committee reserves the right to alter the rules of the competition at any time.